Music: A Precedence In My Life

As we navigate life, we cross paths with a variety of things and some of these encounters stick with us for the rest of our lives. With that being said, I’d like to share one specific moment from my childhood that has kept me happy ever since. One sunny afternoon, when I was five, I was going back home after playing outside. A few steps before entering the front door, I heard a song playing from my aunt’s Nokia phone. Though the music was of low quality, the somehow distorted tune was remarkably good. ‘No one, no one, no one‘… I sang along inside my mind, it was my first memory of doing so. Of course, I have heard songs on the radio long before. And I’ve had my fair share of lullabies courtesy of my parents. Moreover, I have been attending school where my classmates and I sing nursery rhymes with our teacher. Oddly enough, it was hearing Alicia Keys that established my interest in listening to music.

The Oxford English Dictionary defines interest as an activity or a subject that you do or study for pleasure in your spare time. This implies that anything can be an interest, there is a large number of options to choose from. A few common interests are: reading, photography, cooking, painting, playing sports, and watching TV shows. While there are niche interests such as researching ancient illnesses, drawing historical figures, collecting vintage cameras, and memorizing airplane names. Listening to music falls under the former—nearly everyone has favorite songs and singers they would mention if you would ask them. If one asks me about mine, I’m quite certain that the conversation would go on for hours.

To say that I ‘like’ listening to music would be an understatement. I live my day to day accompanied by songs. I play them as I fix my bed, as I brush my teeth, as I eat breakfast. It is also a must for me to do household chores with a speaker on. Washing the dishes and folding clothes just aren’t that enjoyable without songs playing in the background. Often, I measure the amount of time I spend taking a bath by how many songs I have listened to. On my way to university, I plug my earphones and turn on a playlist of upbeat songs to cheer me on. It seems to tell me: “It is another great day, everything will be okay!”. In between classes or during vacant hours, I would put them on again. During these times, I usually read a course material or play an offline game while I listen. Recently, I have created a playlist called ‘on your way home from your 7 pm class‘ and I play it in the jeepney if it’s not too densely packed to move and put my earphones on. And you have probably guessed it, I put myself to sleep by listening to music.

Again and again, I know. Still, I am aware that there is an optimal amount of listening time so I give my ears a break when I have to. I also use a Sleep timer when I play songs as I sleep. My fondness for music doesn’t outweigh my regard for my hearing health! To my overall health actually, I don’t go walking around with my earphones on because I don’t want to risk myself into accidents.

Here are the current albums that I have been (safely and consciously) playing on repeat:

1. Asha’s Awakening by Raveena Aurora
2. Heard It In A Past Life by Maggie Rogers
3. Helplessness Blues by Fleet Foxes
4. Contra by Vampire Weekend
5. From Nothing To A Little Bit More by The Lathums

As you have read and seen, I listen to a variety of artists. I love well-known artists such as Taylor Swift, Ed Sheeran, and Adele but I constantly yearn to discover underrated artists. I like finding hidden gems and of course, I oppose the practice of what is called ‘gatekeeping’—preaching exclusivity is futile as it hinders a musician’s chance to garner a wider audience and receive recognition for their music. I’m glad that my beloved artists such as Noah Kahan, Anson Seabra, Sabrina Carpenter, and AURORA gained momentum in their careers by getting viral on TikTok. Though becoming famous, an artist’s music would not suddenly and sloppily change in essence and quality. A fanbase growing larger doesn’t necessarily ruin the fan experience. Music is for everyone, it is created for people’s enjoyment so for fans who despair over their favorite artists gaining popularity, please don’t.

I can’t say that I listen to all kinds of music
since it is highly impossible, there are just too many that they can’t even be listed. But I don’t think there is a genre that is above all other genres. I have a deep respect for music and artists because this craft is a pursuit of passion that communicates emotions and stories that inspires us to keep on living. There are a few genres that I’m not super into but if I look hard enough, I can definitely find songs that I like in any of them. Yes, I mostly listen to Jazz, Pop, Indie, K-pop, RnB, Folk, Alternative, Classical, and Blues but there are times when Opera, Sythwave, Metal, Rock, and Ambient Music are better played.

A Harvard study proves that music is a universal language. Humans may come from varying backgrounds and have different cultures, but they use and enjoy music in the same ways. I’m Filipino and I treasure Original Pilipino Music (OPM). Dwta is currently my favorite local artist, she’s a Bicolana like me and I find immense joy in listening to her songs that are deeply rooted in our shared heritage. However, I appreciate music from all over the world as well. Sure thing, I’m an avid listener of K-pop groups such as BLACKPINK, EXO, LE SSERAFIM, TREASURE, iKON, and SEVENTEEN.
All the same, I am enthusiastic about Japan’s music industry with ONE OK ROCK, RADWIMPS, Arekun, and Vaundy as some of my favorites. On top of that, I am enamored by Spanish musicians like Julieta Venegas, Camilo, and Evaluna. Lately, I have also ventured on listening to Norwegian, German, and French songs.

Technological developments have made diversifying one’s music taste possible, modernity has improved how people listen to music. These days, I can easily stream on Spotify, a platform with a great catalog of music and countless artists to listen to. I stumble upon good obscure recommendations on YouTube from time to time. I also like to check the artists that my favorite musicians like or cite as influences on their interviews found on the Internet. It has become less complicated unlike before when my family had to burn songs onto a CD or when I would acquire songs by going to my cousin’s place and ask her to share them via Bluetooth. Digesting and delving into my interest has never been easier, I’m beyond grateful for that.

Music is an incredible thing; so much so that it’s indescribable. The sensation of your fingers and toes tapping along with the beat. The feeling of your body swaying and your head bopping instinctively. The way it can make you smile when it conjures a memory, a thought, or even a person inside your head. It’s just… inexplicably magical. No matter what emotion you may be feeling or situation you may be in, there is a perfect song for you. As cliché as it may be, I don’t think I can live without music. It’s not merely an interest, it’s a way of life.


‘Why do I have so much to say?’ I think to myself as I write this article. If you read this one until the end, thank you so much!

Leave a Comment